Two homes, one relationship

Perhaps your household works without a structure. Go you. The rest of us mortals need to figure out how this thing works. This is a spot for talking about how we create the structure of our various domestic arrangements.

Two homes, one relationship

Postby blackbird » Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:21 am

What I'm grappling with at the moment and why dd has gone up the swanny, is that T has moved back to his home, not far away, but far enough for the sub part of me to be wailing. I knew he needed his place back (it was being done up when we met and so he has mostly stayed with me since we started) and even actively encouraged him to go, though I knew I would find it tough. But how tough has been a surprise... but then I have never done D/s before.

We are desperately trying to meet each others' needs - another talk tonight is on the cards - but he doesn't seem to get it that sub me is just a child, and can't wait "until we see where we are". She is just acting out and acting out - fear and insecurity - until I can't think straight and all I do is alienate him. The rest of me is trying hard to state clearly what I need but the logistics feel awesome. His place is still a bit of a wreck and anyway he needs to be there on his own sometimes. And I don't know where I want to be, which exasperates me. I seem to have two utterly conflicting needs. For my independence and to be firmly held.

Does anyone have a similar experience of change of abode that would help us figure out how he can maintain control when we are apart? We tried to get back to it last weekend and I wanted something very firm but then rebelled, so now I'm thinking maybe starting with just one or two rules that we can both stick to would be best. But then I think I just won't take it seriously. :argh:

Any ideas most welcome!

B
"We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars"

Oscar Wilde
blackbird
Rank 3
Rank 3